Paint on a Building (New York, NY)

graffiti on door and brick wall of building including hooded red-dress girl

Street art in Chelsea. New York, New York. (Black and white version.)

Once upon a time, I was on a walk with a friend and stumbled onto this wall scene. It almost induced me into falling into a trap of expounding on What is street art? that child of the mythical beast that is What is art? but not today, Galvatron. Other Internet hills to die on today. (Color version plus a detail shot below. And, no, I wouldn’t wear that t-shirt.)

graffiti on door and brick wall of building including hooded red-dress girl

Street art in Chelsea. New York, New York.

Had a little snafu rendering the “detail” shot in black and white, so it is absent.

stickers and hooded girl graffiti on doorway

Detail of street are in Chelsea. New York, NY.

2 thoughts on “Paint on a Building (New York, NY)

  1. In my opinion the B&W does not even come close to the color version in terms of visual appeal. I really like the color one and I like the way you composed it. I think the full door by itself could also probably stand on its own as a subject.

    • Thanks, David. It was kind of a toss up for me, though I always feel like my B&W’s are missing something, even when I like them. I wish I had taken a different shot of just the door; that might have been good in its own as you pointed out. My failing memory is telling me I was trying not to make my friend wait too long. It’s nice having patient friends though!

Share your thoughts...

