In Line (Brooklyn, NY)

customers talk to a clerk with oher employees in the background

Waiting in line for ice cream at Ample Hills Creamery. Bastille Day 2015. Gowanus, Brooklyn, NY. (Black and white)

This photo is a favorite of mine. Part of that is because I find taking photographs of people difficult, mostly for social reasons, but also exciting and inspiring. So in that context, this photo is a somewhat rare example of well-captured people for me. (And maybe everything associated with ice cream seems better, too.) It’s also one of the few shots where I’ve been torn choosing between a black and white version and a color version (after the break).

I almost want to lie and say I did some color-toning here (but I didn’t). Which version do you like better?

customers talk to a clerk with oher employees in the background

Waiting in line for ice cream at Ample Hills Creamery. Bastille Day 2015. Gowanus, Brooklyn, NY. (Color)

 

5 thoughts on “In Line (Brooklyn, NY)

  1. My take on street photography, and I’d classify this as being in that genre, is that unless one is really good at in camera composition (or gets lucky) then black and white is often the better way to go. The primary reason for this is because B&W removes the “distractions” of colors.

    When I look at these two photos I see a well composed, exposed, and focused picture. I assume the girl with the red bandana is the subject of the photo. To me she seems better isolated in the B&W version. In the color version the red shirt on the girl in the left foreground and the red sign on the wall take my eye away from the subject. The same is true of the row of golden lamp shades over head and the fact that everyone has a different color shirt causes my eye to jump around and off of the main subject.

    In the B&W version I don’t have these distractions, just shades of B&W and a nice leading line of the counter case that zooms out from the distance to the subject.

    Sorry, got kind of long winded there.

    • Thanks for the thoughtful response, David. I more or less had the same interpretation of the B&W version which is ultimately why I put it first. I also know what you mean about the distracting nature or potential of the colors, although I really liked the color palette and while the splashes of color brought me around the photo, I always felt “led” back to the young woman. So in that sense, the colors really worked for me.

Share your thoughts...

